Five Harris Road Middle teachers selected for National Teachers’ Academy | Latest titles



CONCORD – Five teachers from Harris Road Middle School have been selected to participate in the National Sustainability Teacher’s Academy at Arizona State University.

Elizabeth Bartlett, Michael Jackson, Lara Miller, Meri Nettell are among 30 teams selected from more than 120 who applied nationally to participate in this prestigious program.

This team of teachers will participate in a week of hands-on professional development where they will work directly with scientists and experts in sustainable development education as well as community leaders in sustainable development. They will receive tools and support that will help them develop community action plans and activities.

The training will cover issues such as poverty, privilege, social capital, circular economy, food systems and urban ecology. In the year following the workshop, teachers will complete a school-wide sustainability project at Harris Road Middle School, implement a sustainability lesson in their classrooms, and train other teachers in education for sustainability.

Each teacher will receive a stipend of $ 1,000 for their participation in the workshop in addition to the accommodation and travel allowances which are paid by the Academy.

Bartlett is an 8th grade science teacher who has been at Harris Road since 2013. She graduated with a BA in Middle Years Education from UNC Charlotte and Associate in Arts and Science from Rowan-Cabarrus Community College.



Leave A Reply